Devotional 14.02.2014

There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends [NLT] John 15:13
…..
Hengstenberg in his opinion said that Jesus was telling us here, and I quote: “The love to you is of so consummate {consummate here meaning, perfect, excellent, flawless complete absolute} a character, that its object and purpose is seen in my laying down my life for my friends;”

#Jesus loved us so much that He was willing to die for that love. That was how much in love He was with us. It may have been unrequited at the time, but he didn’t care because His love was a selfless one. Now, I’m not advocating that on this day that we should go to this extent in order to show our loved ones how much they mean to us (nahhh bruv, forget that! 🙂 ), but that’s what love really meant to Jesus. You were that important to HIM! Now, when we say we love someone, how much do we really do? Really think about it! As you celebrate your loved ones today (because contrary to what some may say, it’s not just a couple’s day 🙂 ), take out the time to appreciate all the wonderful things that makes them exceptional. Loving one another is not just about how he/she makes you feel, or during the good times, loving you, means “in-spite” of everything, I choose to love you. Loving you means that yes you do get on my last nerve 🙂 , but I choose to see and celebrate all the wonderful things that is you, that make you unique. Loving you is a choice that I’m happy with it, I may not show it all the time, but you know :*. Thank you Lord Jesus for being the embodiment of love, a love that was not selfish, conditional or forceful. Thank you Lord for showing me how to #love! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

