What is the point in praying?

Verse of the Day

I foretold the former things long ago, my mouth announced them and I made them known; then suddenly I acted, and they came to pass. [NIV] Isaiah 48:3

……….

Today there was this burning question in my mind as to the real point of praying. After waiting for so long, praying the same prayer and still having no change in situation; it got me thinking. Why then should we pray? Since God is sovereign and He’s going to do what makes Him God, then why do we need to petition Him on a change of circumstance which appears or seems to go unanswered? He has asked us to pray without stopping (1 Thessalonians 5:17). To ask until what we’re seeking is fulfilled. But what if you’ve reached that point when you’re all asked out, you’re fed up of asking and waiting and all  you’re thinking is, well since God is going to do what makes Him God, then He doesn’t need my input and therefore doesn’t really need me to pray. How then do you get past this brick wall of hope deferred of when your hope dies? If you’ve reached this brick wall and you’re having this question running riot on your mind,  the only word I can say at this moment to you is “Don’t give up hope regardless”. But if you’re tired of hearing what I think (which even I do get tired of hearingJ), I found this link pretty useful and you might too

http://family.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/26155/~/if-god-is-sovereign,-what-is-the-point-of-praying%3F

Sigh. Disappointments will never be easy, but giving up is not an option! You simply just can’t! Your future is worth fighting for! #Devotional #VerseoftheDay #Bible #Jesus

Leave a Reply

